Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Under Review: F12 Nike Zoom Ites

For 2012/13, Nike Snowboarding has added the most expensive boot yet to its line up: the Zoom Ites — retailing for a mellow $400. I got the chance to take a pair for a ride, but before I break it down, I should offer a couple disclaimers. In addition to getting a free pair of boots, Nike got me good and liquored up before, during and after slipping into these things. And since the snowboard industry beleives female consumers aren’t worried enough about boot-tech to pay top dollar and just want something that looks nice and doesn’t let them get them wet, I was riding dude’s boots.

The most notable feature of the Zoom Ites is their “customizable flex” – basically inserts you can add, remove, switch around depending on your taste. The Ites actually range from one of the softest, to one of the stiffest boots on the market, depending on how hard you want to go. If you’re getting serious out there, you may want to switch them up depending on the day or the run (and it’s relatively easy to do with a nice tug), but realistically the benefit of this is you can up the stiffness if the boots go soft on you during the season. After starting soft, then sticking in a hard one, I opted to just go raw dog which, for me, was the best feeling.

Out of the box, the Ites slid on and off with ease without any sort of awkward fumbling, and were comfortable without much adjustment. They use the same lace lock webbing system as other Nike’s I’ve ridden, so tightening and tying is still pretty tedious. But if you’re that much of a pussy, go get a pair of BOAs.

Since boot size is probably important to you, I should note that the Ites use a different footbed than other boots in the Nike line, and fit a bit differently than the Kaijus or Zoom Forces. As far as the appearance, the round toe in the size six wasn’t especially sexy – but as they boots got bigger, things smoothed out a bit. If you’re a sports nerd you’ll probably get a bit excited by the white/ultramarine/infrared (not pink and blue) colorway, which is a throw back to the Air Max 180 running shoe.

After a few rounds here’s my final review: These fuckers aren’t cheap, but it could be worse, you could be paying $1,295 for a ski boot, and then you’d be skiing. Overall the boot is comfortable, customizable, sure to be the latest addition to any fashion-forward rapper’s wardrobe and will give any Nike fan a total boner.

22 COMMENTS

0 0 votes
Article Rating

Leave a Reply

22 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Tim Horton
July 30, 2012 12:20 pm

A girl reviewing snowboarding products? Yobeats about to loose all creditability.

lloyd braun
July 30, 2012 12:26 pm

wow what a riveting review

“they arent cheap, but at least theres a ski boot out thats more expensive”

yobeatoff
July 30, 2012 12:46 pm

YEAH I WANT TO WASTE MONEY

billrosewood
July 30, 2012 1:51 pm

I spy rastaflare

Dept. of Public Safety
July 30, 2012 2:39 pm

they a’ite

sluicebox
July 30, 2012 2:54 pm

i had a pair of these in little league i think, but isn’t it hard to snowboard in baseball cleats? or is that the new thing jake oe does

IceCoast
July 30, 2012 3:01 pm

Yeah except she started and still runs this site Horton you dumb fuck. These look nice but I’ll stick with my zoom forces and save $200 that I can spend on other frivolous nonsense.

dick poncho
July 30, 2012 3:22 pm

like i said, brooke gearys post suk ass………………………………………………………………………………nigga

clams
July 30, 2012 3:40 pm

kobe bryant only rides nike

Pops
July 30, 2012 4:38 pm

@dick poncho
yeah, she a good cook doe

brazzers
July 30, 2012 5:06 pm

im surprised you guys didnt just take a shit on them and cover them in jelly or something.

The Facts
July 30, 2012 7:05 pm

dontdoitarmy.com

StLouisAlaskan
July 30, 2012 7:48 pm

basically the review meant that while the boot had a cool nichey little thing with the customizable flex, its gonna be an easy ‘technology’ to steal and probably 5 or 6 boots next year will have that feature. so don’t spend 400 bones on this shit unless you like nike. which it doesnt sound like Brooke does (thumbs up) otherwise she wouldve been tryin to sell all you kids these ‘magical boots that make you fly. and possibly dunk’.

MotownDrotown
July 30, 2012 8:02 pm

guys. chouces are the paint on which we paint the canvas oif life. Choices people… you need to know about big bird and all he’s done to give back to the comsnunity

leak
July 30, 2012 10:40 pm

ITES the stolen name

yobeat kid
July 31, 2012 2:26 am

“After starting soft, then sticking in a hard one, I opted to just go raw dog which, for me, was the best feeling.”

You would, Brooke. You would.

fuck nike
July 31, 2012 7:46 am

.

Churrboy
July 31, 2012 8:28 am

Who the fuck would pay $400 for boots? all you need to do is buy a pair of 32s, hope they dont blow out on you 1/2 way through the year then send em back and get a new pair fo free.

Witness
August 4, 2012 11:34 am

Its like stealing paints from an artist. Kinda bummed on Nike these days. Wish everyone knew the real Ites. Its a shame…..

ITES
August 8, 2012 8:20 am

Ites collaborates with Nike

Thayne
August 8, 2012 8:42 am

Haha, the fuck is this? Is this the annual player haters ball? I will agree that the price is just as shitty as this review is, but go read around deeper about this boot. The tech is fresh and makes your $550 burtons look foolish. The floor of these things is comfortable especially for you lazy leaners plus other great specs. As far as everything else goes people would be high fiving, no hand clapping, and singing gospel if these were any other brand. Sticking with the Kai’s this year, but the fit in these is pretty epic. Again, keep hating nike haters… I’d be hurt too if my favorite brand was about to be outdone years to come… SB *cough*. I say good day sir. Hate Hate Hate Hate.

Welcome to Blower Media (the preview edition). Subscribe below and be the first to know when we're officially launched.

In the meantime follow us on the socials Instagram | Twitter | Facebook

Thanks! We will keep ya posted.

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Blower Media will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: